My Backpack

Over the summer, I read a book called Finding Someplace. In Finding Someplace, by Denise Lewis Patrick, Reesie, the main character, had to pack a backpack because she was in the middle of Hurricane Katrina. Reesie was all alone at her house, so she packed a few things, then went to her neighbor’s house. After the hurricane was over, she went to a big building called the SuperDome. In the SuperDome, someone stole Reesie’s backpack. Reesie didn’t know that was going to happen, and she didn’t have a lot of time, so she just grabbed the things that were important to her.

If I was in that situation, I’d pack only the things I need. I’d pack a flashlight with extra batteries, a portable charger, and my phone. I’d pack those things in case the power went out, or if my phone died. I’d need a phone to call 911, or my parents. These are things I would pack for my entertainment. A notebook, and colored pencils. I would also pack a medical kit, and important papers like my birth certificate for emergencies. I’d bring a jacket if I got cold. Those are the things I’d pack if I was in the middle of a hurricane and I had to leave.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *